Wk 2 – Art Experience – Landscapes With A Corpse

Death by Disney.

After class on Thursday, my friend called me and asked what I had planned to do that night. I didn’t have anything to do besides work on a poster, which I finished in like 5 minutes.  So she told me to get ready and that we were going to go to Disneyland. First off, I love Disneyland. I love the food, the rides, the shows, the ambiance, and every thing the park has to offer. Once we got to Disneyland, we went on rides and ate some food; you know the usual. Then, I remembered that I had to do my landscapes with a corpse activity by this Sunday.  My friend and I tried to come up with some creative ideas, but then it hit me. Why not create my departure at Disneyland? The happiest place on Earth meets death. If I were to die, I would want to die with the company of my friends, enjoying great food as my last meal, and just being in the place I love so much. It’s like heaven on earth, minus the overpriced items and long lines for the rides. Okay, I might be head over heels, but I really love Disney. So we waited until it was almost time for the park to close to capture this scene. We headed over to Fantasyland as my friend took many pictures of me. My pictures are not the best, and I was not content with how they looked. After a couple tries, I realized death is not perfect. With my pictures being slightly unfocused, it really showcases how death can happen at any time. It can come without an invitation and just shake up your world. When a death occurs, especially if you lose a person very dear to your heart, you lose focus on the rest of the world. You focus on that person and every little memory of that person. Anyways, after the night at Disneyland I was actually dead tired. From walking all over the place, standing for long hours, and eating so much food, my body really needed a break. To add, I had the best corndog in my life at Disneyland. It was honestly life changing, and if that were to be my last meal, I would be perfectly content with it. I had my cute Disney hat on with a cute outfit and nice makeup. I was comfortable and felt good about how I looked, so to leave the world on that note would be great. I actually thought this project was pretty unique. To be able to try and create how you want to die in this world is not something you’re asked to do in class, but it was cool to be given the chance. Death makes me appreciate my time with friends and family, so at the end of that Disney day, I’m glad I got to “die” after a good time with my friend.

Leave a Reply

